IMSA Daytona: Montoya tops first practice for Acura Penske

Juan Pablo Montoya’s last flying lap of the session put the #6 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 on top in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s first practice for more than five months.

First practice for tomorrow’s WeatherTech 240 at Daytona was held in the early evening, and defending Prototype champion Montoya used his 19th and final lap to shade the Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R of Pipo Derani by a mere 0.016sec.

Derani, who will be sharing his Caddy with Gabby Chaves tomorrow following Felipe Nasr’s positive Covid-19 test, was just 0.037sec faster than Harry Tincknell in the #55 Mazda RT24-P.

Ricky Taylor was fourth in the second Acura, ahead of Chris Miller in the JDC-Miller Cadillac, Ryan Briscoe in the similar car of Wayne Taylor Racing, and Sebastien Bourdais in the second JDC-Miller machine.

The #77 Mazda did not turn a wheel in the session, the car failing to fire up.

The two Porsche 911 RSR-19s of Laurens Vanthoor and Nick Tandy were split by the Corvette C8.R of Tommy Milner in the GT Le Mans class.

Antonio Garcia in the second Corvette was around 0.8sec ahead of the two Rahal Letterman Lanigan BMW M8 GTEs.

In GT Daytona, Toni Vilander’s Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3 was 0.2sec quicker than the Lexus RC F GT3 of Townsend Bell and the two Meyer Shank Racing-run Acura NSX GT3s of Mario Farnbacher and Alvaro Parente.

Tomorrow, second practice will start at 10.15am local (Eastern) time, with qualifying from 1.55pm and the race at 3.10pm.

Practice results:

16 Dane Cameron
Juan Pablo Montoya
DPiAcura DPi1’35.960 
231 Felipe Nasr
Pipo Derani
DPiCadillac DPi1’35.9760.016
355 Jonathan Bomarito
Harry Tincknell
DPiMazda DPi1’36.0130.053
47 Helio Castroneves
Ricky Taylor
DPiAcura DPi1’36.1870.227
585 Chris Miller
Tristan Vautier
DPiCadillac DPi1’36.5410.581
610 Renger van der Zande
Ryan Briscoe
DPiCadillac DPi1’36.6510.691
75 Joao Barbosa
Sébastien Bourdais
DPiCadillac DPi1’36.7490.789
8912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 191’44.0038.043
94 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C8.R1’44.0758.115
10911 Nick Tandy
Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 191’44.1248.164
113 Antonio Garcia
Jordan Taylor
GTLMCorvette C8.R1’44.1328.172
1224 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE1’44.9328.972
1325 Bruno Spengler
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE1’45.0249.064
1463 Cooper MacNeil
Toni Vilander
GTDFerrari 488 GT31’47.48111.521
1512 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
GTDLexus RC F GT31’47.68811.728
1686 Mario Farnbacher
Matt McMurry
GTDAcura NSX GT31’47.73211.772
1757 Alvaro Parente
Mikhail Goikhberg
GTDAcura NSX GT31’47.80111.841
1816 Ryan Hardwick
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R1’48.08212.122
1914 Jack Hawksworth
Aaron Telitz
GTDLexus RC F GT31’48.12112.161
2074 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach
GTDMercedes-AMG GT31’48.19312.233
2196 Robby Foley
Bill Auberlen
GTDBMW M6 GT31’48.43712.477
2244 Andy Lally
John Potter
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT31’48.58612.626
2376 Corey Fergus
Paul Holton
GTDMcLaren 720S GT31’48.68712.727
2430Rob Ferriol
Spencer Pumpelly
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT31’49.77613.816
2522 Till Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
GTDAcura NSX GT31’49.85213.892
2677 Oliver Jarvis
Tristan Nunez
DPiMazda DPi0.000 

Source: Read Full Article