IMSA Mid-Ohio: Castroneves leads van der Zande in FP2

Acura Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves was fastest in second practice for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship round at Mid-Ohio, ahead of Wayne Taylor Racing’s Renger van der Zande.

Castroneves’ Acura ARX-05 lapped the 2.258-mile course in 1min11.395sec, almost two tenths of a second quicker than van der Zande’s Cadillac DPi-V.R, and precisely 0.25sec faster than Dane Cameron in the second Acura.

Half a second behind was Pipo Derani of Action Express Racing, ahead of the two Mazda RT24-Ps which were over 0.4sec apart.

Sebastien Bourdais was fastest JDC-Miller Cadillac driver, but compatriot Gabriel Aubry – Tristan Vautier’s co-driver for the weekend – did well to end up a mere 0.014sec slower, although this was partly due to Barbosa replacing Bourdais when the track was at its quickest.

Antonio Garcia headed up Corvette Racing’s challenge to top the four-car GT Le Mans class, a quarter second faster than teammate Oliver Gavin in the #4 C8.R. The BMW M8s were 0.38 and 0.59sec slower.

The AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RCFs finished the GT Daytona session in first and second, Aaron Telitz’s 1min20.465sec lap remaining unbeaten despite the best efforts of his teammates. Frankie Montecalvo was 0.289sec slower, but was a greater margin than that ahead of home team Meyer Shank Racing, for whom Matt McMurry was third fastest in the #86 car.

Just 0.005sec slower than that was Robby Foley in the Turner Motorsports BMW M6, but also within a 0.15sec of McMurry was Ryan Hardwick in the Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R, Spencer Pumpelly’s Hardpoint Audi R8 (which missed yesterday’s practice) and Paul Holton’s Compass Racing McLaren 720S.

17 Helio Castroneves
Ricky Taylor
DPiAcura DPi361’11.395 
210 Renger van der Zande
Ryan Briscoe
DPiCadillac DPi371’11.5870.192
36 Juan Pablo Montoya
Dane Cameron
DPiAcura DPi311’11.6450.250
431 Felipe Nasr
Pipo Derani
DPiCadillac DPi361’11.8980.503
555 Jonathan Bomarito
Harry Tincknell
DPiMazda DPi371’12.0090.614
677 Oliver Jarvis
Tristan Nunez
DPiMazda DPi371’12.4701.075
75 Joao Barbosa
Sébastien Bourdais
DPiCadillac DPi351’12.5401.145
885 Tristan Vautier
Gabriel Aubry
DPiCadillac DPi401’12.5541.159
93 Antonio Garcia
Jordan Taylor
GTLMCorvette C8.R381’18.6687.273
104 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C8.R391’18.9287.533
1124 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE291’19.0347.639
1225 Bruno Spengler
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE331’19.2607.865
1314 Jack Hawksworth
Aaron Telitz
GTDLexus RC F GT3381’20.4659.070
1412 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
GTDLexus RC F GT3361’20.7549.359
1586 Mario Farnbacher
Matt McMurry
GTDAcura NSX GT3341’21.0709.675
1696 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
GTDBMW M6 GT3331’21.0759.680
1716 Ryan Hardwick
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R351’21.1589.763
1830 Rob Ferriol
Spencer Pumpelly
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT3361’21.2029.807
1976 Corey Fergus
Paul Holton
GTDMcLaren 720S GT3311’21.2209.825
2057 Alvaro Parente
Mikhail Goikhberg
GTDAcura NSX GT3321’21.56610.171
2123 Ian James
Roman De Angelis
GTDAston Martin Vantage GT3331’21.78310.388
2222 Till Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
GTDAcura NSX GT3351’21.94310.548
2344 Andy Lally
John Potter
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT3321’21.97810.583
2474 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach
GTDMercedes-AMG GT3361’22.04710.652
View full results

Source: Read Full Article